CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

Quebec, referred to as Old Canada, are the two largest of the original provinces which formed the Dominion in 1867. Quebec was founded by the French in 1608. It fell to the British in 1759, and in 1763 was formally ceded to Great Britain. From 1763 to 1774 it was governed under military rule or authority, but in later years a Council of Government was established by the British Parliament. In 1791 an Imperial Act was passed dividing Canada into two provinces, Upper Canada and Lower Canada, and a constitution was provided for each province. Each province was granted a legislature consisting of two Houses, a nominative council and a popular assembly. These two provinces were however again united in 1841. From February 10 of this year until the federation of the provinces in 1867 they continued as one province. At the union in 1867 they were again separated, Upper Canada becoming "Ontario," and Lower Canada "Quebec."

British Columbia.—British Columbia, on the shores of the Pacific,

British Columbia.—British Columbia, on the shores of the Pacific, was granted a colonial Government in 1858. In 1859, Vancouver Island became a colony with a separate government. In 1866, British Columbia and Vancouver Island were united under one government and as such entered the Federal Union in 1871. At the time of joining the union, all these provinces were in the full exercise of the principles of

responsible government.

Northwest Territories.—That vast region to the north of British Columbia and Old Canada, known as Rupert's Land and the Northwest Territory, was taken over by the new Dominion in 1869, on the payment of \$1,500,000 for certain claims of the Hudson's Bay Company, to which were also reserved large areas of land in the ceded territory. Out of this territory the present provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta have been carved, viz., Manitoba in 1870 and the other two in 1905. There remain the extensive districts of the Yukon and the Northwest Territory which are still under territorial administration as adjusted by certain Dominion legislation.

Fathers of Confederation. — The distinguished Canadian statesmen who participated in the conferences of 1864 at Charlottetown and Quebec, which led to the passage of the British North America Act in the Imperial Parliament, are now affectionately and admiringly remembered as the "Fathers of Confederation." Among the most prominent of these are such wellknown names as those of Sir John A. Macdonald, Sir Charles Tupper¹, the Hon. George Brown, Sir Leonard Tilley, Sir George E. Cartier, Sir Oliver Mowat, the Hon. D'Arcy McGee and Sir E. P. Taché. Others who held high positions in the public life of Canada during the years immediately preceding



¹The Right Hon. Sir Charles Tupper, Bt., P.C., at one time Prime Minister of Canada, is the last survivor (1915) of the "Fathers of Confederation."